# NOMINATIONS

## **COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS**

## **Subcommittee on Nominations**

### 2020-2021

### Subcommittee Goal

To renew or replace incumbents whose terms on the Executive Committee are expiring, to fill vacancies on the Executive Committee, to ratify the new slate of Officers, and to nominate an individual for Secretary/Treasurer.

#### Chair

Eric Gordon, Cleveland CEO

### **Members**

Kelly Gonez, Los Angeles School Board William Hite, Philadelphia Superintendent Jesus Jara, Clark County Superintendent Aleesia Johnson, Indianapolis Superintendent Patti Radle, San Antonio School Board Sendhil Revuluri, Chicago School Board

## **COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS**

## Nominations

The Chair of the Board forwards the following nominations to fill vacancies on the Executive Committee of the Council of the Great City Schools.

### Officers

 Be it resolved: That Kelly Gonez (Los Angeles School Board) serve as Secretary/Treasurer beginning March 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2021 and that Ashley Paz (Fort Worth School Board) fill the unexpired term of Kelly Gonez beginning February 1, 2021, whose term was set to expire June 30, 2022.

ACTION BY COMMITTEE
( ) Approved
( ) Not Approved

AFFIRMED

Chair of the Board

2) Be it resolved: That Barbara Jenkins (Orange County Superintendent) serve as Chair of the Board beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2022.

ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved

() Not Approved

AFFIRMED

Chair of the Board

3) Be it resolved: That Kelly Gonez (Los Angeles School Board) serve as Chair-Elect of the Board beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2022.

ACTION BY COMMITTEE
( ) Approved
( ) Not Approved

AFFIRMED

Chair of the Board

4) Be it resolved: That Bill Hite (Philadelphia Superintendent) serve as Secretary/Treasurer of the Board beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2022.

ACTION BY COMMITTEE ( ) Approved ( ) Not Approved

AFFIRMED

Chair of the Board

5) Be it resolved: That Michael O'Neill (Boston School Committee) serve as Immediate Past Chair of the Board beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2022.

ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved

- () Approved
- () Not Approved

AFFIRMED

Chair of the Board

### Extend Terms/Confirm Appointments/Fill Vacancies

1) Be it resolved: That Robert Runcie (Broward Superintendent) serve a first three-year term from July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2024.

ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved

() Not Approved

AFFIRMED

Chair of the Board

2) Be it resolved: That Elisa Vakalis (Anchorage School Board) serve a second three-year term from July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2024.

ACTION BY COMMITTEE
( ) Approved
( ) Not Approved

AFFIRMED

Chair of the Board

3) Be it resolved: That Marcelo Cavazos (Arlington Superintendent ) be confirmed to serve the unexpired term of Juan Cabrera whose term expires on June 30, 2023.

ACTION BY COMMITTEE
( ) Approved
( ) Not Approved

AFFIRMED

Chair of the Board

4) Be it resolved: That Diane Porter (Jefferson County School Board) fill the vacancy created by Ashley Paz (Fort Worth School Board), whose term was set to expire June 30, 2022.

ACTION BY COMMITTEE
( ) Approved
( ) Not Approved

AFFIRMED

Chair of the Board

 Be it resolved: That Joe Gothard (St. Paul Superintendent) fill the vacancy created by new Secretary/Treasurer, Bill Hite (Philadelphia Superintendent, whose term was set to expire June 30, 2023.

ACTION BY COMMITTEE
( ) Approved
( ) Not Approved

AFFIRMED

Chair of the Board

# Composition of Executive Committee FY2020-2021 as of January 2021

Region	Male	Female	Board	Supt	Black	Hispanic	White	Other	Totals
East	5	1	3	3	3	1	2	0	6
Southeast	1	5	2	4	4	1	1	0	6
Midwest	4	1	2	3	0	2	2	1	5
West	2	4	5	1	0	3	1	2	6
Totals	12	11	12	11	7	7	6	3	23

## **APPOINTMENTS BY THE CHAIR, 2020-21 SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS AND MEMBERS**

Audit Subcommittee Chair: Ashley Paz, Fort Worth School Board Eric Gordon, Cleveland CEO Kelly Gonez, Los Angeles School Board Guadalupe Guerrero, Portland Superintendent Michael Hinojosa, Dallas Superintendent Robert Runcie, Broward County Superintendent Sylvia Wilson, Pittsburgh School Board

Bylaws Subcommittee Chair: William Hite, Philadelphia Superintendent Richard Carranza, New York City Chancellor Linda Cavazos, Clark County School Board Marcelo Cavazos, Arlington Superintendent Valerie Davis, Fresno School Board Sonja Santelises, Baltimore CEO Elisa Vakalis, Anchorage School Board Darrel Woo, Sacramento School Board

Membership Subcommittee Chair: Thomas Ahart, Des Moines Superintendent Siad Ali, Minneapolis School Board Marcia Andrews, Palm Beach County School Board Sharon Contreras, Guilford County Superintendent Leslie Grant, Atlanta School Board Van Henri White, Rochester School Board

Ex Officio on Subcommittees Michael O'Neill, Boston School Committee

## **Task Force Chairs**

Achievement and Professional Development Task Force Co-Chair: Sonja Santelises, Baltimore CEO Co-Chair: Elisa Vakalis, Anchorage School Board Co-Chair: Deborah Shanley, Brooklyn College

Bilingual Task Force Co-Chair: Siad Ali, Minneapolis School Board Co-Chair: Richard Carranza, New York City Chancellor

Leadership, Governance, Management, and Finance Task Force Co-Chair: Barbara Jenkins, Orange County Superintendent Co-Chair: Ashley Paz, Fort Worth School Board Task Force on Black and Latino Young Men and Boys Co-Chair: Michael Hinojosa, Dallas Superintendent Co-Chair: William Hite, Philadelphia Superintendent

Task Force on Black and Latina Young Women and Girls Co-Chair: Sharon Contreras, Guilford County Superintendent Co-Chair: Kelly Gonez, Los Angeles School Board